The End Is Near

I’ve been AWOL for a while around here, and I’m really missing y’all.  It’s finals week, so last week was spent getting papers written and wrapping things up, doing mock interviews and stressing just a wee bit.  I’m going to try to catch up on everything you guys and gals have been up to in the next few days.

I am officially finished with math as of about 11 this morning.  No more required math classes for the rest of my college career!  I can’t express to you how happy this makes me, as I hate math with the passion of a thousand fires, and, although I have passed all of my math courses thus far, struggle to “get” it.  *Long, relaxing exhale.*  The only thing left to do is present a final paper for my American lit class.  Should be easy enough.  I’m a little worried that some classmates may argue my thesis, given there are some really die-hard, serious, (read: arrogant) English majors in there, but I have a plan.  If it comes to that, I’ll just say, “Oh, hmm, I hadn’t thought of that.  That’s a great point” and move on.  Once that’s done, I am through with the semester.  Can you hear the hallelujah choir?

Starting on Friday, though, I’ll have training for the university’s orientation team and the new peer mentor program.  While I’m not looking forward to being in training all day, I am excited about the new opportunities to be more involved in my school.  I’m also looking forward to netting more hours with my little internet job, with hopes of making enough money to take a few overnight trips during the summer as well as pay down some credit card debt I have lingering from my marriage and divorce. 

Overall, things are pretty damn good around here.  My mother and I are actually talking to each other more, and even went out to dinner together last week, where we *gasp* talked about things other than what the boys have done wrong lately.  She seems to be in a better frame of mind the last couple of months, and I’m hoping that won’t change when my step-dad goes back to working nights in June.  I still have no idea what’s going on this summer with the boys and their dad, every time I ask he says he doesn’t know yet.  It’s frustrating, but not surprising.  You would think a big trip like that would need good, advanced planning, but whatever!  While I know I’ll worry a lot about them and miss them tons, I’m really looking forward to a break from being Mom.

Here’s what I plan on doing a lot of this summer…

What are your plans?

3 Responses to “The End Is Near”


  1. 1 vinomom May 3, 2010 at 7:46 pm

    Yay for the semester ending!! I’m happy you get a short break. I could never ever go back to school!

    Whats this new internet job you have??

  2. 2 The Dish May 4, 2010 at 11:47 am

    And another semester bites the dust! So happy for you.

    Hope The Douche pulls his head out of his ass soon. Yeas, i know it sounds good in theory.

    Summer= Sun, reading, bags, The Husband! 🙂

  3. 3 mumma boo May 6, 2010 at 10:27 pm

    Hooray for the end of the semester! Hello, summer! You’ve worked hard and absolutely deserve a nice, relaxing break. 🙂


Leave a comment