Warning: Mushy Stuff Ahead

In the last few months, I have had this amazing sense of being lucky.  That’s the best way to describe it. 

I know that I’ve told you about my Fireman and how wonderful he is, but it seems that all of the stories and gushing(?) pale in comparison to how amazing he REALLY is.  I tell him all the time, and his reply is always the same.  “I’m just a schmuck,” he says. 

We hadn’t seen each other yesterday, since he worked his second job all day and then had his son in the afternoon/evening.  I had class at 6, and figured that by the time I got out at 9:15, he’d be passed out after riding the ambulance all night and then doing manual labor all day.  I called him on my way to class, and told him I missed him.  (I always do when we’ve gone without seeing each other for a day, especially if I know I won’t see him for another one).  We talked about our days, and when I got to campus, he told me to call him on my break.

Class is so long, but the first half was spent doing our interpretations, so at least it wasn’t boring.  We get a 10 minute break in the middle of class, so first I called to tell the boys goodnight.  Happily, they were getting along and I got to talk to them for a few minutes without threatening punishment to anyone.  Then, I called my Fireman back.  He was taking his son to the ex’s house, and said if he was still awake when I got out of class, I should come over “for a smooch.”  (He lives in between campus and my house).  We laughed a lot before I had to go back inside.

The rest of the class seemed to fly by, and we even got out about 15 minutes early.  It’s down in the basement of one of the buildings, so as soon as I got a signal, I called the Fireman.  He was still awake, so I told him I’d stop by.  We were talking and laughing, and just when I get to my car, I see a truck that looks like his.  That’s when I noticed him standing there.  I was so surprised and happy that I jumped up in his arms. 

THIS is what makes him so special.  He was tired, but he knew I missed him, so he surprised me.  He had sat out in his truck for at least thirty minutes, waiting for me to get out of class, because he knew it would make me smile.  I would have been happy just to see him at the house, but this gesture touched me more than I think he’ll ever know, and it’s just one of many.

We ended up sitting out on the new patio furniture, drinking wine and having deep conversations about our pasts and our future.  I love those talks, and we have them often.  We saw some bats and heard some beetles, and swatted lots of mosquitoes, but it was a great night.  We made each other a pinky swear, and I studied his face in the dim light.  This is a night I will always remember, I’m sure of that.

I don’t even know what else to say except that Ginger is a lucky girl.

9 Responses to “Warning: Mushy Stuff Ahead”


  1. 1 Ms. Moon May 22, 2009 at 10:20 pm

    This all sounds very familiar and very serious to me. I hope so, dear. I think he truly cares about you and what could be better?
    Have a good weekend.

  2. 2 Breigh May 23, 2009 at 1:08 am

    Oooooh sounds like a great evening! I remember when my husband and I had just gotten together, we used to sit and have those talks for hours and hours. We still do sometimes but after almost 10 years of marriage the getting to know you stuff is pretty much over hehe

    A fireman too, eish – hot! haha

  3. 3 eviltwinswife May 23, 2009 at 10:35 am

    When the Evil Twin and I were dating very early on, I had to go to the grocery store. Imagine my surprise when he just showed up there, saying that he’d missed me and wanted to spend time with me! That was 17 years ago… 🙂

  4. 4 Bitchy McBitherson May 23, 2009 at 1:09 pm

    He definitely sounds like a keeper! What a big o’ sweetie! Have a great weekend!

  5. 5 Ron May 23, 2009 at 5:13 pm

    Sounds like a nice way to end the day.

  6. 6 teeni May 23, 2009 at 10:12 pm

    Yes, she is. But so is he. 🙂

  7. 7 lola May 24, 2009 at 10:28 am

    Awww! He sounds so great, but so are you. You’re both lucky!!!!

  8. 8 gingermagnolia May 24, 2009 at 12:56 pm

    Ms. Moon – It’s so funny when I’m reading your posts about Mr. Moon. Just today, I think you wrote that he described true love as seeing your true self reflected in anothers eyes? Something like that…FM said something very similar to me, too. It’s great!

    Breigh – It IS hot! Hehehe. I kind of have a feeling that we’ll talk like this even after being together a long time. I hope so.

    ETW – YAY! I miss talking to you on IM…

    Bitchy – He’s a complete sweetheart for sure, and a keeper, no doubt.

    Ron – It was!

    Teeni – Awww, thanks.

    Lola – Blush…

  9. 9 ms. bliss May 24, 2009 at 1:32 pm

    and life is good 🙂


Leave a comment