My Summer Vacation, Part 3

I arrived in Houston on Tuesday evening, and by Saturday I was ready to get out and visit some folks.  Usually, when I visit home, I’m running from place to place, trying to fit everyone in, but this time I only planned to see mydad, sister, grandparents and maybe Douche’s grandmother.  If I got to see anyone else, it would be a bonus.

On Saturday, I’d planned to go visit with Douche’s Granny.  She’s always been very kind and sweet to me, even during and after our divorce.  She’s also into her 80’s, so I knew that I should go and see her if I had the chance since I didn’t know when I’d be down again.  Did I mention Douche’s mother lives with her now?  Luckily, she was gone up to Alaska for a visit when I was in Texas, although I did see her scummy boyfriend (unemployed, bald on top but long hair in the back, you get the picture) while I was there.  One of Douche’s aunts who I was always close with met me there, as well as one of his cousins with his wife and daughter.  It was a good visit, and I’m glad I went.  Here’s me with Granny:

When I got back to Dad’s house (my dad, not Dad the blogger 😉 ), my older sister, Em was there and we headed out to Dad’s church for a choir concert he wanted us to see.  At least, that’s what WE thought.  Turns out, we were going to his church, the choir was practicing, then we were driving to another church downtown for mass, then a reception, then dinner.  Em and I don’t particularly care for going to mass, as we aren’t Catholic, nor religious, but we did it for Dad.  The choir sounded great, and Dad was really glad to be able to participate again.  By the time we finally got to eat dinner, Em was suffering from a migraine and Dad was exhausted, so we didn’t get to take any pictures even though we were all dressed up.  We did see this car in the parking lot, though.  The picture isn’t great, but it’s a Mini Cooper with horns on the front and cowhide-patterned inlays.  One of those things you shake your head at and say, “only in Texas.”

On Sunday, Em picked me up and we headed to see our grandparents, who live near Nasa, where my grandpa worked for Nasa in the 60’s, 70’s, and 80’s.  Even though Em lives about 60 miles away from them, she hadn’t gone to visit for 6 years!  :O  We had a nice visit, showed them lots of pictures of our kids, and they told us lots of stories – all the while arguing about the details.  I always have a good time visiting with them, and this was no exception.  We stayed all day long and didn’t end up leaving until about 7:30.  Some pics with Em and the grandparents:

The next day, Dad, Em, her oldest son, and I visited my uncle and his family.  They have a pool, and invited us to come swimming and have dinner.  Some pictures from that day:

Thus, the end of my trip to Texas.  Oy, I guess this’ll be more like a 5 part series or so!

5 Responses to “My Summer Vacation, Part 3”


  1. 1 Ron August 10, 2010 at 8:31 pm

    Nothing like getting in some visitin!!

  2. 2 Evil Twin's Wife August 10, 2010 at 8:44 pm

    That’s great you were able to reconnect with so many people on your trip!

  3. 3 Jenski August 11, 2010 at 9:29 am

    You and Em get around. That’s great that you fit in visits with everyone!

  4. 4 Sarcastic Bastard August 11, 2010 at 10:04 am

    I enjoyed the photos. Cute family!

  5. 5 amy d August 16, 2010 at 1:30 pm

    I am loving this series! Seriously! So fun hearing how you spent your summer:)

    …Though I am DYING to hear how Big J’s Alaskan move request is playing out! Praying he’s changed his mind.


Leave a Reply

