My Summer Vacation, Part 2

I wonder how many parts this series is going to end up with?  At least three, I suppose, and probably more.  Onward!

My trip to Houston was a very long one, with a 2 1/2 hour car trip to the airport, a 40 minute plane ride to St. Louis, a 2 hour layover, a 2 hour plane trip to Houston, and then an hour long trip to my dad’s by car.  I was completely exhausted by the time I got off the plane, but some family friends, i.e., my second parents picked me up and took me out to dinner here.  It’s a Houston institution, and I was able to geat REAL!  GULF!  SHRIMP! for dinner.  I was so excited!  I wish I’d thought to take a picture of my dinner, because I don’t think people who haven’t been to the gulf realize how big the shrimp is.  And, oh so delicious!

After dinner, they dropped me off at Dad’s house.  He was sitting in his chair waiting for me to come home, and when he stood up, I’m surprised I didn’t gasp.  My dad, who in all my memory had been a big, hulking, barrell-chested man, looked withered and old.  He’d lost at least 40 pounds since the last time I’d seen him – 20 pre-surgery, and 20 post.  For the first time, he looked like an old man to me, and when I hugged him, his arms weren’t rock-solid anymore.  He showed me his scars, the worst being the one that went from his ankle up his thigh, the chest one had already mostly healed.  We said goodnight and went to bed.

Now, I feel like I have to tell you this so you’ll appreciate the oddness that occurred at Dad’s house that week:

My step-mother and I have never gotten along, and while for the most part I suck up my anger and don’t speak up to her (well, except THIS time).  When my dad went into the hospital and his children couldn’t get any information from her, I called my aunt, who called my uncle, who unloaded on my step-mother for not calling anyone.  Because she hadn’t called any of us directly, the story was skewed and we thought dad had been in the hospital for three days, when he’d only just been admitted.  Rather than call any of us directly, she called HER daughter first, who then called my oldest sister’s husband.  Yeah, that’s how much she didn’t want to talk to us.  Grrr. 

Anyway, before the trip, I decided that I’d send her an email letting her know my schedule and that I was planning to stay the entire week so I could help out.  I honestly wanted to stay with friends, but my dad was adamant that he would rather I stay there with him.  So, I sent a short, cordial email realying that I was ready to do anything I could to help.  She replied with what was probably the nicest email she’s ever sent.  She told me Dad was really looking forward to seeing me and that she was going to leave a car for me so that I could take him to walk at Wal-Mart (it was too hot for him to walk outside, and he could use the buggy for support) and to the chiropractor.  She said that she was going to be busy at work, but she’d be home by 7 and on the weekend so that I could go visit my grandparents and sister.  I started to feel better about everything.

Okay, back to the story!

The first day I was there, Dad and I just stuck around the house until it was time for him to go walk.  We watched the first two Indiana Jones movies, and he napped a bit.  By 8, he was getting worried because his wife wasn’t home yet.  He called her and left a message, and a little while later, he said he was going to call her again and went into his bedroom.  I heard him talking, so I thought he must be on the phone until he came back out and said, “She’s home, she came in the back door.”

Oh-kay.  The “back door” is a door in the master bathroom that leads to a courtyard.  Houston was feeling the effects of a tropical storm at the time, and she chose to walk around the back of the house, through that door, rather than come through and say hello to me.  This happened every time she was at home that week.  I did not see her one time my entire visit.  She had never done this before.  She’d been incredibly rude, condescending, and talked smack about my kids before, but never this. 

When I was able to get together with my older sister on the weekend, I told her about it and asked her if she knew why our step-mother would do this.  She said she wasn’t sure, but that while dad was in surgery (WHILE HE WAS IN SURGERY!), she was complaining to her daughter about everything I’d ever done or said to her that she didn’t like.  She actually said that I tried to keep them from getting married, which I most certainly did not.  The only thing I can think is I might have told my dad that I wished he’d wait a little longer before getting married again.  Who knows?  Bitch is crazy.

So, that’s what it was like at Dad’s house – incredibly strange.  Looks like the rest of the trip will have to wait for the next post!  Here’s a picture of the house, though, because it looks pretty:

6 Responses to “My Summer Vacation, Part 2”


  1. 1 Ron August 6, 2010 at 3:54 pm

    Well…. better to have a strange stealthy ninja pain in the ass than one content to screw up your vacation with your dad. So Yay you!!!

  2. 2 Evil Twin's Wife August 6, 2010 at 8:54 pm

    I can’t believe your step monster was SO rude! That woman has some problems, fo sho.

  3. 3 Sarcastic Bastard August 9, 2010 at 12:24 pm

    That bitch is strange. Nice house though.

  4. 4 dadshouse August 10, 2010 at 1:58 pm

    Nice house. Glad you’re seeing your dad.

    btw – when I read this line: “After dinner, they dropped me off at Dad’s house.” I immediately thought of my blog. They dropped you off and you didn’t say hi to me?? 🙂

  5. 5 amy d August 10, 2010 at 3:36 pm

    I would say that’s a damn good visit! All Dad time, no evil step mother around! Bliss!!

    Beautiful home!

  6. 6 Jenski August 11, 2010 at 9:19 am

    Bitch IS crazy and WEIRD. Who acts like that?!?!


Leave a Reply

