Yeah, I Got ALL Scrappy! AKA – The Fracas of ’07

 

Okay, here it is, the entry you’ve all been waiting for.  Okay, at least Honeywine has.  The big one.  This is the account of what happened on July 10, 2007.  I was visiting home for the first time since my separation.  My kids had been visiting their grandparents for a month, and I hadn’t seen my husband for a month.  My soon-to-be-ex-in-laws were treating me like crap, and I was visiting my dad.  My sister and her soon-to-be husband (A.) were there visiting at the time, too.  Her fiance had never met our dad or step-mother, and boy did he get the full experience!  Here’s my journal entry from that night.

Today was very rough.  Yesterday, Dad, E., A., and I went downtown to look for cheap wedding stuff.  It was really nice to be able to spend the day alone with Dad without C.D. up his ass.  Today E. and A. are flying home, so I was headed back over to Honeywine’s house anyway.  I was sad because the boys had gone back with mom, and I knew I wouldn’t see them again for at least a week or two, and now E. was leaving, too. 

As we were putting all of our things in the cars, Dad and I were the only ones outside in the driveway.  Since I hadn’t really gotten a chance to talk to him alone the whole time, I kind of unloaded on him.  I told him how hard this week has been and how hurt I was by Douche’s family, as well as how much C.D.’s comments and the way she treated the boys and me bothered me.  Dad hugged me and I put my head on his shoulder.  (I was sobbing at this point.)

C.D. came flying – yes, flying – out of the door and started yelling about how it was “inappropriate” for me to “hang all over” my father, how we have an “inappropriate relationship”, and other such bullshit.  This was all in the front yard.

Dad grabbed her by the arm and started yelling at her, asking why she was treating me this way and how she could say things like that.  She told him that I was snotty and rude to her.  She actually said, “I dont understand it because everyone else likes me.” (!!!)  I lost all rational thought when she said that.  I said, “None of us like you,” meaning my sisters and me, our husbands/boyfriends/anyone we know.  In retrospect, I probably shouldn’t have said that, but I don’t care.  I’m glad I finally told her what I thought about her.  She went on to flat out lie to my father about something that happened with Big J and then lied to me about telling my dad he could come visit me. 

I never thought I’d see him ever stand up to her.  He called her out on how she could drop everything at a moments notice to see her daughter and expect him to tag along, but they never had time/money to come see his family.  I was glad he stood up for us, it’s something he hasn’t done the whole time they’ve been married.  I hope he’ll stand his ground with her.  I’m pretty sure he won’t, though.

It seems lately like everyone is disappointing me.  I was so upset this morning, it took me forever to stop crying.  I honestly think that the hardest part was not having Douche there to talk to about it.  I miss him so much.  I miss having someone to lean on.  I miss my best friend.  Obviously, it was an illusion anyway.

So that was the big fight between my step-monster and me.  Imagine if I hadn’t been on antidepressants!  I might have had to cut a bitch!!!! 

I’ve seen my dad and C.D. once since this happened, at my younger sister’s wedding in January.  They flew in on Friday for the wedding on Saturday, then left Sunday morning.  The only thing I said to her the whole time was, “No, the kids are not getting a blessing during communion.  They aren’t Catholic.”  My mom told me I should have said that we were raising them in the Wicca religion.

At this point, I’m scheduled to head back down for a few days in July.  I’m really, really not looking forward to it.  I told my dad I would be there from July 2-5, but now I’m thinking I really don’t want to spend that much time in C.D.’s presence.  For some reason, she refuses to let him do things on his own.  Grrrr.  I may cut it down to one day and one night spent at their house.  The only problem with that is, my dad gets his feelings hurt and thinks I don’t want to spend time with him…or he’ll lay on a guilt trip about how he never gets to see his grandsons.  I’ll figure it out, I guess.

The best thing about this trip is that I get to see Honeywine in the ghetto trailer!!!!  I’m definitely looking forward to that.  I get to meet Pascal!  Jealous?

8 Responses to “Yeah, I Got ALL Scrappy! AKA – The Fracas of ’07”


  1. 1 KC May 28, 2008 at 5:35 pm

    Wow and wow. This lady sounds like a real peice of work!

    But um…duh I am jealous! Pascal is Uber-sexxy and Honeywine lives in a ghetto trailer? That is Awesome!!!! Aunt Becky (of Mommy Wants Vodka) and I used to joke about sharing a trailer in college. We were going to deck it out as tacky as possible, but we never followed through. I still ache for pink plastic flamingos to this day.

  2. 2 Ginger Magnolia May 28, 2008 at 6:01 pm

    It’s really funny that you said that about the flamingos. Some neighbors of my mom’s were complaining about some minor stuff in her yard (she works nonstop & hasn’t had time for yardwork), so she went online and ordered some pink flamingos to put out to piss them off!!!! LMAO. I told her she should also get a family of gnomes, and perhaps a lawn jockey or two.

  3. 3 Ginger Magnolia May 28, 2008 at 6:02 pm

    Oh…and you’d never know it was a ghetto trailer from the outside. She has awesome taste and mad decorating skillz, yo!

  4. 4 honeywine May 28, 2008 at 9:58 pm

    You’ve got it reversed. It’s definitely ghetto outside…inside it’s Shangri La! lol I’ve always been tempted to turn it into a replica of a 1940’s cruise ship or train. There’s not a lot you can do to the outside of a trailer though. 😦

    And that step-ho be messed up in the head! (professionally speaking of course lol) Seriously, she needs some therapy, and I suspect there’s been some sexual abuse there.

  5. 5 gingermagnolia May 28, 2008 at 10:03 pm

    Baby, you so right (you have to read that in Barry White’s voice!) And I can’t believe I got that mixed up. Note to self, must proofread before hitting submit.

  6. 6 Penelope May 29, 2008 at 8:41 am

    Woah she is quite something! Hide all sharp implements!
    V V jealous that you get to smooch with Pascal but I guess seeing as he comes as part of the package it’s ok ;o)
    Hug honeywine from me please!

  7. 7 KC May 29, 2008 at 10:30 am

    My place looks pretty ghetto from the outside too – it’s all about what you do with the inside, though. I love pleasant surprises!

  8. 8 gingermagnolia May 29, 2008 at 10:36 am

    Penelope – Hugs all around, and wine, too.

    KC – I agree. My aunt lives on Michigan Ave. in a condo that looks just like any other building from the outside, but it’s a palace inside (even though it’s tiny).


Leave a Reply

