Dum dum dum….foreshadowing!

Okay, okay…so I was going to tell you about the big fight in this post…BUUUUUUT in reading my journal, I realized that this part couldn’t be left out.  Therefore, I’m doing two posts.  This is an entry from the day before the big blowup:

Today was a very long day, with C.D. being a complete bitch the whole time.  E.*, the boys, and I went to our childhood church and Dad came along.  C.D. went to mass instead.**  She made everyone breakfast and then complained about it.  We saw a lot of people we hadn’t seen in years.  It was good to go back.

Afterward, we came back to the house and waited for C.D. to get home.  I kept asking Dad if there was anything we should do to start lunch, or if we needed to go to the store to pick something up.  He said no, C.D. was bringing home stuff to cook and had it all planned out.***  She didn’t get here until 1:30.  We were all starving by this point.****  So, she goes to cooking and complaining about how she has to do everything.  (It was soup and grilled cheese sandwiches….gee, 3 adults and 2 kids couldn’t have handled that on their own). 

As soon as we were done eating, we jumped in the car to go to NASA.  We didn’t get there until about 3:30.  Today is a Sunday, so they were closing at 6.  Not much time.  I think Little J must’ve stayed up 1/2 the night last night because he complained about everything, which only made C.D. treat him/his brother/everyone that much worse. 

When we left at closing time, Dad said they were going to take us out to dinner.  That was a surprise, although as tired as the boys were I didn’t think it was a great idea.  It was a nice dinner, anyway…probably mostly because C.D. sat at the opposite side of the table.  She actually didn’t understand what was going on when the waiter scraped the crumbs from the table with the little scraper.  Hahahahahahahaha.  At least there was that little laugh.  I don’t think she said more than 2 words to me the whole time.  Oh, well. 

As soon as we got back to the house, she went straight to bed.  No “goodnight,” no “fuck you,” nothing.  Dad just looked at me and said, “Well, C.D.’s hard to live with.”  I told him that she made me feel very unwelcome in their home.  He said, “You’re always welcome here.”  I told him that I love seeing and spending time with him, but I can’t stand being around her.  I also told him that I miss him.  He knows how hard this separation/divorce is for me, maybe more that anyone else.  I’m glad I’ll be back at Honeywine‘s house soon.

 

*My younger sister.

**Did I mention she’s a religious zealot, who thinks all non-catholics will go to hell?  She also fancies herself a martyr.

***There is always food in their house, but damned if you can ever find anything to eat.  Most of the things in the refrigerator have expired, and you’re left with lots of mixes and things.  My father couldn’t even find anything for us to eat in his own house!

3 Responses to “Dum dum dum….foreshadowing!”


  1. 1 KC May 28, 2008 at 3:04 pm

    You know it’s bad when the “good person” in the relationship can’t even find anything nice to say.

  2. 2 gingermagnolia May 29, 2008 at 10:37 am

    KC – I think my dad is so afraid of being alone that he’ll never be rid of her, which is sad because I don’t think he enjoys his life too much anymore.


  1. 1 My Summer Vacation, Part 2 « Names Have Been Changed….. Trackback on August 6, 2010 at 2:31 pm

Leave a Reply

