Halloweenie

Halloween in Gingerland was tiring, but lots of fun. 

It started off with a seminar for 8th graders and their parents to decide which high school to go to next year.  There are 4 different high schools in our area, each with a different focus for students.  It’s daunting and really, what kid knows what they want to be when they’re in 8th grade?!  I know there are a few people who always know what they’re going to be when they grow up, but dang!  We’ve narrowed it down to two and are going to attend the open houses to get more information before deciding.  I’m not old enough to have a son going into high school next year.  I’m not, I’m not, I’m not!

Big J had asked if he could go hang out with a girl(space)friend while I took Little J trick or treating (between the hours of 5 and 7), and once I’d talked to her parents and been assured that they would be present and keeping an eye on the kids, I told him he could go.  I drove him over and got back right at 5 to an antsy Little J telling me it was time! to! go!  Here’s what the boys looked like, including little Senor Fussypants, who came over to visit.

boys playing 011

halloween 035

halloween 027

Little J and I walked around the neighborhoods with a couple of other kids and another mom.  It was flippin’ cold as could be here!  The kids had fun, and we saw some great costumes.  This was pretty ingenious, too.  They had a paper towel roll coming through the plastic and used it as a chute for the candy when the kids came up.

halloween 038

Once trick or treating was over and Big J was home, it was time to get ready for the grown up stuff!  A friend of mine from school invited me to a party, and I invited along my friend Scooter, who dressed up as Dexter Morgan.  All you Dexter-philes, this is for you…

halloween2 007

What did I dress up as?  I was a retro housewife, complete with heels, stockings, apron, pearls, feather duster, and kerchief.  The damn scarf kept slipping out of my hair all night, but it was worth it.

halloween2 011

We stayed at the party a few hours, then went to a bar in town to listen to some of Scooter’s friends’ band.  They’re a cover band with a badass girl singer.  It was fun times, especially when the completely drunk lady kept trying to get me to dance with her and doing the whole, “you, me, me you” thing before getting up onstage and bending over in front of the drummer to show him her ass.  There were lots of ladies wearing  “sexy” costumes, and only maybe 2 of them had any business doing so, one of which was our waitress who was dressed as Officer Naughty.  She worked it!  We sang along and drank and laughed all night and didn’t get home till after 2am. 

All in all, a super fun Halloween.

How was yours?  Did you dress up?  What was the best costume you saw all night?

11 Responses to “Halloweenie”


  1. 1 Ms. Moon November 2, 2009 at 9:11 am

    Ah. I remember going out. Yes. I think I remember that. Oh wait. Maybe I don’t and I’m just thinking about a movie I saw where people went out.
    Seriously- glad you had fun. The kids were very scary-looking. Except for Sr. Fussypants who just looked darling.

  2. 2 Vinomom November 2, 2009 at 9:36 am

    Love the boys – they are really freaky! And OMG he nailed Dexter (helps that he looks pretty similar to him in the face) but that was just awesome. :) You look adorable too. I stayed in Halloween but The Boyfriend went out and said pretty much every girl was dressed up skanky. You are lucky you got to go out!

    Oh and also you asked on my blog if Lady H was freezing – they didn’t even need coats on Halloween! It was a perfect night, around 60 degrees.

  3. 3 Evil Twin's Wife November 2, 2009 at 12:47 pm

    Sissy wore that same devil costume a couple of years ago! She is the embodiment of that costume, so I thought it was fitting! LOL. The boys look great, you look great and I LOVE Dexter. :-) He is really cute!

  4. 4 BigLittleWolf November 2, 2009 at 3:15 pm

    Great pics! (Just wait til you hit the adolescent years… no wonder they won’t let me take photos of them!)

  5. 5 dadshouse November 2, 2009 at 3:29 pm

    Did you get Officer Naughty’s phone number for me? :-)

    Sounds fun!

  6. 6 The Dish November 2, 2009 at 10:13 pm

    I was out Friday night and was amazed at the amount of people dressed up! We were playing slutty costume Bingo.

  7. 7 Ginger Magnolia November 3, 2009 at 9:15 am

    Ms. Moon – Thanks, it was fun, and Sr. Fussypants always looks darling!

    Vinomom – Damn! It was in the 40’s all that day here. :|

    ETW – I’ll tell him you said so! ;)

    BLW – If Big J hadn’t been wearing that mask, he probably would’ve tried to run from the camera. He’s suddenly gotten very camera shy.

    Dad – Oooops, sorry, I knew I was forgetting something! Note to self: when you see hot chicks, get their number for Dad. :)

    Dish – Yeah, I really missed my window where I was still young enough to wear those. Oh well, I guess it’s for the best.

  8. 8 lola November 3, 2009 at 11:15 pm

    Great costumes all the way around!!! Um, why aren’t you dating Dexter? He’s super cute and looks way fun. Is he gay?

    As for the schools, be grateful you have a choice. The one and only high school we have blows, and it’s next to impossible to get into the tech school nearby. I am not looking forward to those years!

  9. 9 amy d November 4, 2009 at 3:47 pm

    That H1N1 Shield is so funny! Great idea!!

    Dude! Your friend Scooter is a hottie!! Ya’ll would look cute together:)…wink! wink!

  10. 10 Ginger Magnolia November 4, 2009 at 6:35 pm

    Lola – No, he’s not gay. Yes, he’s cute and fun. We aren’t dating because when we met, I just wasn’t wanting to play the dating game, and he was seeing someone. He isn’t now, though…

    Amy – Gosh, I’m starting to get a complex! I think we may end up dating, but so far we’re just friends. Haven’t so much as hugged each other.

  11. 11 mumma boo November 4, 2009 at 11:05 pm

    Awesome costumes! Love the H1N1 shield and the masks on the pumpkins. That’s taking it to a whole new level. ;)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

